Note to Self…I am NOT a Seasoned Traveler!!

By: tutticooks

Oct 14 2010

Category: Uncategorized

2 Comments

So there’s this place in my mind where I live.  In it, everything goes smoothly, I look fantastic, all works as it’s supposed to work and life is perfect.  I’ve been living in my mind’s Italy for the past six weeks.  I am now making the uncomfortable transition to the real Italy and it’s quite a learning experience.  Oh, I’m sure once I get there that I’ll go back to my perfect world, because…well, it’s Italy for crap’s sake! 

It’s just…well…let’s just say that calling me an “unseasoned traveler” is an understatement.  I should have known since it took me six years to update my passport.

I subscribe to the notion that if you can’t be a good example, at least be a horrible warning.  It makes me shudder to think what would happen to me if I wasn’t traveling with a professional. 

Let’s take the easy things:

First, did you know it’s recommended to have at least  100 euro in cash with you in case your PIN doesn’t work in the ATM machine??

Did you know that you need to call your bank to let them know you’ll be traveling to a foreign country so they don’t think your card’s been hijacked and suspend debit privileges?

Did you know that it’s recommended to contact museums and other sites to make reservations (when possible) to avoid long lines or not being able to get in at all?

And then there’s packing.  This is a process that normally takes me three days when I go to San Diego.  I started a week ago and I’m still uncertain about it.  Do I take a bigger bag to fit things I might buy, but then have to lug it around the country?  Or, do I bring a smaller one and pay through the nose to FedEx stuff home?? (I have heard nightmare stories about the Italian Post!) 

And, of course, I want to look my best.  Okay, maybe not Sophia Loren or Gina Lollabrigida, but still.  That involves many clothes choices.  NOT GONNA HAPPEN.  I already feel as if the three pair of shoes I have will taunt me as I lug them all over the countryside. 

So, friends, if you are like me, and you’re not seasoned, LISTEN to the words of wisdom from beloved travelers who just want to help you.  They know what they’re doing!  Like my friend Patricia who said “just pick a few of your very favorite things you love to wear and you’ll be fine”  or beloved Becki who chimed in “you look fabulous in red, bring lots of red!!”

And to my new, but no less DEAR friend Andrea, I thank God for you every day!  I know that you will help me, and teach me, and hold my hand on this wonderful adventure.

So, seasoned or not–all new experiences will be coming my way and I face them like a pro…

I’ll be wearing red, of course!!

Ciao!

2 comments on “Note to Self…I am NOT a Seasoned Traveler!!”

  1. It sounds like you are still packing, right? There are a couple of things that I like to take with me — one of those stretchy travel clothes lines where either end has a hook — great for washing a shirt/undies to dry overnight in the room (a bungee cord works in a pinch). A blindfold for the plane (or in case your room has a bright light that shines in all night long). And for some reason, a few zip lock baggies have come in handy in too many ways to count. None of these things takes up much space, but I generally use them all. If you pack your toothbrush and little thingie of toothpaste in flight, it’s amazing how much better you’ll feel on landing if you have clean teeth. And baby powder helps, too! I’m still jealous, you will have a blast!

  2. Dear, dear Joan,
    RELAX! You will do great, be great and have a great time.
    Can’t wait to hear about it when you return. Am looking forward to the word pictures you will paint for me.
    Love & Hugs,
    Denice


Leave a Reply

