When You Wish Upon a Star…

By: tutticooks

Nov 01 2010

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/4.7
Focal Length:8mm
ISO:50
Shutter:1/200 sec
Camera:DiMAGE G600

People have asked me about my impression of Italy. How did I feel when I first set foot on Italian soil? I am reminded of that great line Tom Hanks in “Sleepless in Seattle” as he described meeting his wife…”it was like coming home, only not to any home I’ve ever known.”
That about describes it. It was simultaneously new and completely familiar all at the same time. There were tastes and smells that I remembered from so deep in my childhood, it was before I could set words to them. Constantly commenting was I that “I haven’t tasted this exactly this way since I was a very little girl!” I thought about my grandfather, and hoped he’d be proud that I’d make it back to his original country, and trying to learn the language.

Italy creeps into your senses and into your heart in a way that no country does. At least not for me. I will return, over and over again, because she cannot be experienced in one two-week span of time. She is different in all seasons and all provinces–exotic and pastoral, chaotic and peaceful, and cannot be explained but must be experienced for onesself.
I thank God every day that I was able to have that experience first-hand.

More to come!!

Leave a Reply

