All Hail the Fabulous Funghi!!

By: tutticooks

Nov 13 2010

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/8
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/179 sec
Camera:PENTAX *ist DL

“Con le mie scuse huga di Andrea” (with huge apologies to Andrea), my Italian travel partner who is quite allergic, I really must take a moment to sing the praises of the mushroom!

It’s prime season for the fab funghi, you see, and I want to be sure it gets the props it deserves. I have always loved them, but my love turned into passion when one night, my dear friend Lynn came up from LA and we dined at Shiro’s Restaurant here in Belltown. The chef set wonderful little teakettles at our places, but instead of tea, they were filled with a beautiful, smoky mushroom broth. The moment I tasted it, I was transported to a small cabin in the woods, where a fire was blazing and the surroundings were cozy. What a feeling for this time of year!
To this day I wish I had asked Shiro exactly what type of mushroom they used, but I was still a shy foodie-wannabe back then!

There are dozens of different mushrooms available this time of year in Italy, they are sweet, nutty, musky and mysterious. Tartufo, are the famous truffles that are delightful! I find black truffles to have a very rich flavor, and still haven’t tasted the elusive (and very expensive) white truffle.

So, why not walk on the wild side? Instead of reaching for the usual white or brown button the next time you’re in the produce section, why not try a meaty Porcini, a wild crimini or something completely new? Saute them with a little butter and white wine, and serve as a side dish. Add them to your Cream of Mushroom soup. It’s a perfect way to celebrate the fall!

Mangia! Che tu fa bene!! (“Eat up! It’s good for you!”)

Leave a Reply

