A New Fan…

By: tutticooks

Mar 24 2011

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

1 Comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:8mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/59 sec
Camera:DiMAGE G600

Hi friends!  It’s been too long since I’ve blogged and I’ve missed you all!

I wanted to share a wonderful experience I had recently.  I got together with a couple of friends over dinner at The Barking Frog Restaurant in Woodinville http://www.willowslodge.com/wine_dine/.  Do you believe yours truly had never been there before?   I can’t, either!

It was raining cats and dogs on that Sunday early evening and we couldn’t wait to get inside.  Once in, we were greeted by a delightful fire, welcoming staff and a lovely atmosphere!

We were seated immediately and our server couldn’t have put us more at ease.  We were excited to partake in the three-course special menu, as provided by the Dine Around Seattle promotion going on this month (check it out at: http://www.dinearoundseattle.org/)  I confess, I expected our server to be a bit put off by this, given that our bill would now automatically mean a smaller amount, but she congratulated us on our choice.  Wow.

We spent the rest of the evening sampling delicious plates and passing them around, with wonderful wine pairings to boot!  I had Celeriac Bisque to start, Wild Boar ravioli, and an incredible chocolate mousse cake for dessert.  Yum!

The most important thing, however, was that this evening had all the elements of a perfect meal–good friends, great food, ambiance, a server who encouraged us to relax and enjoy the evening and a wonderful warm space in which to enjoy it all.
That memory will be tucked in my mind wherever I go, and that, my friends, is what I seek to re-create in my cooking classes, private dinners for clients, and what I hope to encourage my students to enjoy with their friends and families.

Good food and great memories go hand in hand and with a little effort (and creativity) you can find them wherever you look.  So, if you haven’t enjoyed the company of a loved one over a good meal in awhile, I hope you’ll think about doing so–whether in your own home or out at a great eatery, it’s well worth it!  I believe that the Dine Around Seattle promotion is being extended thru April.  If so, I’d encourage you to take part and choose a restaurant to try.  It makes these menus affordable and just about anyone can try them!

A huge shout out as well  to Laura and Dana for helping to make it special!

One comment on “A New Fan…”

  1. I had a marvelous time as well. It could not have been a nicer evening.
    The company, the ambience, the food… all top notch!
    I’m looking forward to going to Mongos !


Leave a Reply

