Ahh, Venezia!

By: tutticooks

Oct 19 2010

Category: Uncategorized

4 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:8mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/0 sec
Camera:DiMAGE G600

Fresh Scallops at the Mercato della Rialto (Rialto Market) Tuesday Morning

The view from our balcony at the Hotel Monaco...

Well, we have arrived! After thirty-six straight hours of being awake, I arose to the sun streaming into my room and sounds of boatmen calling to one another on the Grand Canal. I know…it sounds as if I am making it up. I promise you, it’s all real!! I have to tell you that the moment we crossed the Alps on our flight in yesterday, I looked out the window and could tell we were in Italy. The farms, the vegetation, the brownish-red brick on the houses, all identified this beautiful country from thousands of miles above and I can’t tell you how I felt. It was like coming home, except to a home I’d never been before…belissima!

Okay, enough about me, let’s talk about why you’re really following this…THE FOOD! As promised, I’ve done some research and worked very, very hard collecting data for you folks following at home. And, as one could imagine, the food is delicioso! The word for Venetians is “pesce” (fish) and it’s all fresh, all the time.
They fry it, saute it, and toss it in with fresh-made pasta (fatti con mano–made by hand). When you walk through the market, there are literally crabs jumping, they’re so fresh! And you can taste the sea in every bite.

Okay, that’s it for day one…more to come! Now that we’ve finally gotten our internet figured out!
Ciao!

4 comments on “Ahh, Venezia!”

  1. You were “thousands of miles” above the earth? Did you travel by space shuttle? Just kidding! Jetlag takes it’s toll! I’m so glad you are there and it sounds absolutely marvelous! Enjoy!

  2. Oh Joan–What a thrill for you to finally touch the soil of your beloved Italy! Take your shoes off and let you toes sink into the sand–is there sand in Venezia? I’ve never been there so I don’t know. Enjoy it for me!

    I will give you a hint–I collected white stones from the Mediterranean in Turkey and they now sit in a bowl in my living room. Every time I look at them, my heart returns to the amazing experiences I enjoyed in Turkey. Instantly, I am on the beach in Antalya!

  3. Hey Joan!! Glad you made it there safely. Sounds like you’re having a blast so far! The scallops look amazing, and the view from your room is beautiful. Looking forward to future posts and photos!

    Love ya gal!
    Jode

  4. Hey babe – your photo’s are great!! Bellisima (sp?)!


Leave a comment